## Subsection 3.-Nova Scotia

The Province of Nova Scotia has a Lieutenant-Governor, Executive Council and a House of Assembly. The Ministry or Cabinet, styled the Executive Council, consists of the Premier and President of the Council and Provincial Treasurer; the Attorney General who is also Provincial Secretary; the Minister of Mines who is also Minister of Labour, Minister of Public Health and Acting Minister of Public Welfare; the Minister of Highways and Public Works; the Minister of Agriculture and Marketing who is also Minister of Lands and Forests; the Minister of Trade and Industry; the Minister of Education; the Minister of Municipal Affairs; and one Minister without portfolio who is in charge of the administration of the Nova Scotia Liquor Control Act. The House of Assembly has 37 members elected for five years, the maximum duration of its existence.

The Premier of the Province receives a salary of \$9,000 per annum and each Cabinet Minister a salary of \$8,000 per annum. Each member of the House of Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$1,600 and an allowance of \$800 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties. The Leader of the Opposition receives an allowance of \$1,000 in addition to his sessional indemnity.

## 16.—Lieutenant-Governors of Nova Scotia, 1867-1950, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-50, and Present Ministry as at June 1, 1950

NOTE.-See headnote to Table 14, p. 85.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission
LtGen. Sir William F. Williams. Major-Gen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle LtGen. Sir C. Hastings Doyle. Joseph Howe. Sir Adams G. Archibald Matthew Henry Richey. A. W. McLelan. Sir Malachy Bowes Daly. Sir Malachy Bowes Daly. Alfred G. Jonss. Duncan C. Fraser. James D. McGregor.	Oct. 18, 1867 Jan. 31, 18881 May 1, 1873 July 4, 1873 July 9, 1888 July 9, 1888 July 9, 1888 July 29, 18951 July 29, 18951 July 26, 1900 Mar. 27, 1906	J. ROBSON DOUGLAS JAMES C. TORY FRANK STANFIELD WALTER H. COVERT. ROBERT IRWIN	Nov. 29, 1916 Mar. 21, 1922 <sup>1</sup> Jan. 12, 1925 Sept. 14, 1925 Nov. 19, 1930 Oct. 5, 1931 Apr. 7, 1937 May 31, 1940 Nov. 17, 1942

<sup>1</sup> Second term.

Legislatures, 1934-501

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1933 June 29, 1937 Oct. 28, 1941 Oct. 23, 1945 June 9, 1949	17th General Assembly 18th General Assembly 19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly	4 4 4	Mar. 1, 1934 Mar. 1, 1938 Feb. 19, 1942 Mar. 14, 1946 Mar. 21, 1950	May 20, 1937 Sept. 19, 1941 Sept. 12, 1945 April 27, 1949 2

<sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1934-50 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 5, 1933, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald; 13th Ministry, sworn in July 10, 1940, under the leadership of Hon. A. S. MacMillan; 14th Ministry, sworn in Sept. 8, 1945, under the leadership of Hon. Angus L. Macdonald.

<sup>2</sup> Life of Legislature not expired at time of going to press.